Mount To-Be-Read; An Update

It turns out that my plan to climb the pile of unread books that sit on my shelves is much akin to walking the wrong way on an escalator.
Yes, I’ve climbed a few steps towards the top but the inexorable movement (read: purchases) have also carried me down a ways.

I have read several books since I last posted about this (including some that I’ve read and decided weren’t for me, which still counts!) but I’ve also purchased a few more… Mainly for this I ‘blame’ the Gollancz festival for this year.

I was doing so well and then Amazon, in tandem with the festival, had a spectacular daily sale and I bought about 6 books. Only some of which were on the list to be purchased eventually…

Books Read;

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett (re-read so it probably shouldn’t count…)

Dreams and Shadows by C. Robert Cargill

Six Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente

Retribution Falls by Chris Wooding

Bitter Seeds by Ian Trigellis

A Key, An Egg, and An Unfortunate Remark by Harry Connoly

Gonji: Red Blade from the East by T.C. Rypel

 

I bought Retribution Falls so that I could read it, meaning that one doesn’t really count, and the same for Six Gun Snow White. But even without that I think I’m about even. Obviously this isn’t helping me to mine the rich deposits of Mount To-Be-Read as I keep running around looking at the gold scattered around the floor, but I’m on my way.
One thing that I have started doing is being a little more brutal when deciding whether or not to continue with a book.

I used to pretty much soldier on with a book regardless of how much of a slog I thought it was, but recently I’ve been moving away from that. After all, there are so many great books out there why would you want to trudge through a book you hate for a week! Whenever I do that I always find that my reading speed is drastically reduced as I stare out the window mid-paragraph thinking about other books, dragons in general, or how to pronounce ‘scone’. Anything to get out of reading the book!

As I close in on completion of my /r/Fantasy Bingo Card (a copy of my spreadsheet as it stood when this post was made can be found here) I jumped on a purchase at a charity shop (there was a copy of Inkheart there) as I didn’t own anything in some of the categories.

But now I have no excuses to purchase any more books for a little while as every category I own at least one book and in others I own several books.

Here’s to the final month of 2015, completing the Bingo card, and (probably) not purchasing any more books!

Leave a Reply

